From Diary

I feel like a fish out of water. My age begins to tell on me. One of these days I’ll be dead, with probably nothing left over. That’s what the religious argument is all about. What if people are primates and not special in the order of things?

Why take subjectivity for the starting point of any ideology? This seems inverted to me.

Blame Descartes for the cogito. I think I’m quite sick of philosophy. There must be a way back to common sense and science. Objectivity and ordinary things. But philosophically, science is a jump. I just remembered scepticism. I guess I’m saying, Why can’t objects of sense be the starting point? Matter over mind? Stuff not fluff? This approach helps me eliminate church and all the convolutions of theology and what not. The problems of idealism. In imagination, I still am bickering with the pastor. His rejection of psychiatry and biology I find disgusting. But he’s a religious man, at odds with the science perspective.

It was a mistake to ever join ORLC.

At one point early, I hoped for an inside cure for schizophrenia. Experience since then hasn’t borne this out. I knew only one case of a schizophrenic who said talk therapy cured him. One out of thousands or a million.

The online forum was a sad place to visit. Seems like ages ago. 2018 was a year of awful confusion and disorientation, feeling lost and oarless in the water. I barely recall what ORLC was like. My brain dumps what it doesn’t need.

I only want to remember happy times, like the autumn of 2011: wine, women, and song.

I want to remember things that are certain, not confused and wishy washy. Things like science and happiness itself. Darwin and J.S. Mill.

There’s gotta be a rock for foundation. For me it’s not the Bible. It is utilitarianism. 

Leave a comment