Big Day, Little People

Well I watched 30 minutes of the debate this evening, and then just followed the blog postings to Apple News because I couldn’t stand to see Biden struggle to form complete sentences in answer to his questions from the moderators. It was sad and pitiful, and according to analyses of Trump’s answers, he lied most of the time he spoke. Meanwhile, RFK was mad because CNN excluded him from the debate for technical reasons, criteria his campaign failed to meet. The whole thing was an embarrassment while everyone tuned in to see the spectacle. Groan. But there’s nothing anyone can do, even with the knowledge we have about these two guys, except vote for one or the other of them. You’d think that the media was running for President, or could.

Oh well.

Yesterday morning I called Polly and talked for two hours. Since she quit driving a car, she’s run into an impasse or two. Someone wrote her a check for $30 but she can’t get to her bank to deposit it and she refuses to ask her sons for a ride there. I asked her if they begrudged her any favor they did for her and she said no. She hates to be a burden on anyone. I think her logic is flawed: she wants to feel independent but it’s not realistic. She doesn’t see justice objectively, in terms of what needs to be done and what is prudent, and her place in the picture. I also told her that you can’t please everybody. But it’s no use arguing with her: like arguing with a stone. So she’s going to try to send the check with a deposit slip by mail to her bank… All for the lack of transportation. All for the want of a horseshoe nail. I said there must be a simple solution to her problem. Obviously the thing to do was ask Jeff for a ride to the bank. But her stupid pride precluded any such project. Really it’s such a little thing.

Oh well again.

Yesterday I also restrung my bass and played it a couple of times. Since it’s a cheap axe, the electronics are rather shoddy and produce an unwanted chorus effect. The only way to fix it is to replace the pickups with better ones. This isn’t worth doing because the bass was so cheap, as I said.

I guess it wasn’t the best of days yesterday and yet I feel fine.

Leave a comment