The Neon God

Six thirty AM.

It used to be that I was last in line at checkout every time I went to market. But a couple of times now, I’ve been at the head of the line. Just a trivial observation, probably insignificant… The weekend wasn’t much fun. I don’t remember very well what I did for it, what thoughts I had, but I felt lousy from loneliness and exile. I could’ve gone to church, but the fact is I didn’t. A year ago was when Pastor announced his retirement, and anniversaries tend to stick in my mind. Partly I blame myself for his leaving, though his decision had nothing to do with me. I’m not informed of church politics and economics. It was grandiose of me to believe I was the cause of his departure; I’m just a cell in a much bigger octopus whose purposes I don’t understand. Everything’s a puppet show but who’s the puppeteer behind the stage? I only know it’s not me. I can’t even hatch a new idea today. Originality is a value to some people, to others not so. Usually we’re discouraged from using our brains. It isn’t the optimism of Immanuel Kant saying Dare to know anymore. One person I knew seemed to think it was a crime to think for yourself; he dragged everything back to the Church and gave the Church supreme authority.

Is that a sign of the times? 

Leave a comment